Getting Started with Paligo

How Changes Affect Other Components

The status change checkbox determines what happens to components reused in the one you are changing. But what about topics and other publications that are related?

For instance, if you release one publication, and all its topics, what happens to another publication where some of the same topics are reused?

There are many scenarios, but the ones below may help understanding the most important effects:

Figure 1. Work in progress → Released (changing the publication status)

If we change Publication A from Work in progress to Released, all its topics will by default also be released. This means that the sub set of topics reused also in Publication B will of course also be released.

The component Publication B in itself will not be affected.

Work in progress → Released (changing the publication status)
Work in progress → Released (changing the publication status)


Figure 2. Released → Work in progress (changing the publication status)

If we change Publication A from to Released to Work in progress, only the publication component itself will change. This means in this scenario, Publication B will not be affected at all, neither its topics nor the component itself.

Released → Work in progress (changing the publication status)
Released → Work in progress (changing the publication status)


Figure 3. Released → Work in progress (changing the topic status)

If we change Topic A from to Released to Work in progress, we will also by default change the publication it is reused in. Since it is reused in both Publication A and Publication B, both of these publication components will change to Work in progress.

Released → Work in progress (changing the topic status)

You can override this behaviour if you want, using the checkbox in the dialog, but it is normally not recommended. If you are changing Topic A, you are of course effectively working on a new version for any component where it is reused.

There can of course be exceptions for pragmatic reasons. If you have reused Topic A in 100 publications, and you need to make a minor change, and the publications do not need to be republished. Or the change is filtered only for Publication A. Then it's completely up to you to override the default, using the checkbox.

Released → Work in progress (changing the topic status)
Released → Work in progress (changing the topic status)


These are some of the common scenarios, but of course there are others. As mentioned, if the default behaviour fits you well, you rarely need to think about it, as it all happens automatically.

But you are encouraged to try various scenarios out on sample content if you want to learn more.