Getting Started with Paligo

Table of Contents

Deleting and Moving to Trash

There are two options to remove content in Paligo. Either instantly deleting content permanently, or move it to the trash can, where it can stay until you're completely sure that you want to permanently delete it.

Note

Moving to trash is recommended most of the time, as it can easily be undone.

  1. Open the context menu of the content and select Move to trash and it will go to the Trash folder.

  2. To move many objects to trash, select all the content you want to delete, by holding Ctrl (Cmd on Mac), and then select "Move to trash" in the context menu.

  3. If you are sure you want to delete the content permanently, just select Delete

  4. If you want to delete the content in the Trash folder permanently, just open the context menu of Trash in the Content Manager, and select Empty trash.

  5. If on the other hand you want to restore content from the trash to its original location, simply select Put back in the context menu.

Preventing deletion of reused content

Paligo automatically prevents you from accidentally deleting content that is in use somewhere. 

If you get a message saying that Paligo will not delete content because it's reused, you will get options what to do:

  1. You can choose to still go ahead and delete it, if you are sure it's safe.

    Caution

    This is rarely recommended: If you delete content that is reused, ignoring the warning, any topics reused in publications will be removed from the publication or topic they were reused in.

    If you have any links to the topic you are deleting from topics still in use they will be broken.

  2. If you want to check where the content is reused, and make some modifications first, you can do so by checking the Structure View for the topics (or clicking images to view their properties). The metadata section will both show where it is reused ("Related publications"), as well as if there are links to it (in the "Used in" section).

Tip

Because Paligo will protect you from accidentally deleting reused content, if you know you need to delete a large number of objects, it's a good idea to consider this:

For example, if you were to delete first a folder with images currently reused in your topics, don't try to move the images to trash first and empty the trash. Paligo would then notify you that the images are reused.

Instead, do it the other way around or move both to trash and empty at the same time.